HomeOS X HelpNetworkingDisable the creation of .DS_store files

4.1. Disable the creation of .DS_store files

If you access a network share on Windows desktops or server, your Mac leaves .DS_store files wherever you browse. These Mac OS X system files contain data about the directory and are hidden for Mac users. You can deactivate the Writing of .DS_store Files on Networks shares, so your Windows friends will stop complaining.

defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores TRUE

Reboot your Mac or Log out and back in again for the changes to take effect.

Reverting to Default

defaults delete com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful